Sep 11, 2020
Google regularly updates its search results algorithm to ensure increased accuracy of the results. On a similar note, on May 4th of this year, Goog...
Oct 24, 2018
by Rakhi Chowdhary
Who does not want traffic on their websites? In this marketing world, SEO has proved to be a cost-effective result-driven approach for boosting your business, so why not gain the lucrativeness of SEO? What a digital agency promises are not rocket science or top secrets. Our online experiences start with a search engine and end with a search engine, what lies in between is our strategies to utilize these resources and build a full plan to implement those in the right direction.
I would like to share a few formulas for your daily use in the digital marketing world. You can surely save some time if you have these digital advertising formulas on your fingertip.
CTR - Click-through Rate
|(Number of clicks / Number of views) X 100
CTR is used to calculate campaign overall performance.
In a campaign, if your ad was shown 3000 times to audience and it received 75 clicks to the landing page. The CTR is (75 / 3000) X 100 = 2.5%. The higher the CTR, the more successful the campaign can be considered as.
CPM - Cost per Mille
CPM = (Cost to an Advertiser / Impression) X 1000
CPM model of online advertising is used for brand awareness and exposure for a newly established brand.
Suppose, an ad received 5500 impressions. The advertiser decided to spend GBP 25.00 for the campaign. The cost for a thousand impressions would be (25 / 5500) X 1000 = GBP 4.5 which means that the advertiser agreed to pay US$ 4.5 for every thousand views.
|CPC - Cost per Click
CPC = Cost to and Advertiser / Number of clicks
CPC is widely used model; the advertiser needs to pay for each click instead of impression.
Suppose, you’re running an ad campaign for one of the eBooks that you sell online. You chose the CPC model. How much would you have to disburse for the campaign? Consider the number of clicks and the amount you’d like to spend on each click. If the number of clicks you received is 150 and the CPC is GBP 2.2, the total cost to you is GBP 275.00 That’s how it works.
|CR - Conversion Rate
CR = (Number of Conversion / Number of Clicks) X 100
If your online marketing campaign’s goal is only to generate revenue.
Let’s assume that ABC company sells shoes through an electronic shop. It ran an ad campaign on Facebook and an ad received 250 clicks. The advertising was happy seeing the CTR. But much to his surprise, the number of conversions on the website was only 1 meaning that only 1 product was sold during the time the ad was live. The conversion rate is (10 / 250) X 100 = 0.4% which seems to be pretty low.
CPA - Cost Per Action/Acquisition
CPA = Cost to an Advertiser / Number of Conversion
CPA = Cost to an Advertiser / (Number of impression X CTR X CR)
In the case of CPA, an advertiser will only pay when a conversion takes place regardless of the number of impressions an ad receives or the number of clicks it generates. For a revenue-generating business, CPA is of much importance.
|Suppose XYZ Inc. sells laptops through its website. It ran an online ad campaign where one ad promoting a newly arrived model of laptop was viewed 3000 times by the target Audience. The number of clicks it received, however, was 150 and there were 15 conversions.
CPL - Cost Per Lead
CPL = Cost to the Advertiser / Number of Leads generated from the ad
eCPM – Effective Cost Per Mille
When the marketers’ campaign goal is to generate leads. This is similar to CPA, except the campaign goal.
eCPM - Effective Cost Per Mille
eCPM = ( Total Earning / Total number of Impression ) X 1000
Determines the revenue generated from a thousand impression of a specific ad, unlike the actual CPM which determines the cost to the advertiser for a thousand impression of the same ad.
Suppose a company generated US$ 50 in revenue from an ad and the total number of impression the ad received was 10000. The eCPM is (50/10000)X1000 = US$ 5 which means that for every thousand impressions, the company earned US$ 5 in revenue.
|eCPC – Effective Cost Per Click
eCPC = Total Earning / Total number of Clicks
eCPA – Effective Cost Per Action
|eCPA = Total Earning / Total number of actions
Determine the total revenue generated by an ad for each action taken on the website. It’s used to calculate how effective a CPA campaign is.
|ROI – Return on Investment
ROI = (Total Revenue – Total Cost) / Total Cost
|It is important to know the monetary benefit (in our case, the revenue) earned against the money invested to acquire it.
Suppose an eCommerce store has generated US$ 2000 from an online advertising campaign and disbursed US$ 500 on the campaign. The return on investment is (2000-500)/500 = US$ 3 which is 300% of the cost when converted into a percentage. 300% return on investment is pretty high but it is also true that achieving a high ROI is not easy. We can state that for every dollar spent on the campaign, the business generated US$ 3.
|LTV - Life Time Value (Added by Domingo Cordero)
Cost per Click / Conversion Rate < Life Time Value
For example, if the LTV (Life Time Value) for ABC company is $500 and a CR (Conversion Rate) = 2%. We should not expense more than $10 CPC (Cost per Click) $10 / 2% =$500
CPC Bid * Quality Score
This helps in determining how prominently your ads are displayed in a SERP
ROAS – Return on Ad Spend
Return on Ad Spend = (Revenue/Spend)
(Revenue + Goal Value) / Cost
If I spent $10,000 on paid search in October and generated $50,000 in revenue, the ROAS for paid search is $4:1. ($50,000/$10,000= $5)
Excel has always been one of the favourite tools amongst SEOs, and now, so is Google Sheets. Here are a few simple and easy to use Google Sheet/Excel formulas for SEO.
The SUM function is used to make large scale addition a breeze.
The LEN function returns the number of characters in a text string/cell.
LOWER / UPPER / PROPER
To change sentence case.
CONCATENATE(text1, [text2], …)
This is used to join multiple text strings/cells so that the content appears as one in a new cell.
IF(logical_test, value_if_true, [value_if_false])
This is used to tell IF a condition is met in a certain cell.
VLOOKUP(lookup_value, table_array, col_index_num, [range_lookup])
This function is used to find things in a range.
Example Formula: =VLOOKUP(A4;’Lookup Table’!A2:D1000;4;FALSE)
Keyword Density = (Nkr / Tkn) x 100
Density = your keyword density
Nkr = how many times you repeated a specific keyword
Tkn = total words in the analysed text
Keyword density is the percentage of times a keyword or phrase appears on a web page compared to the total number of words on the page.
So, if your article or piece of content (the text you are analysing) is 500 words in length and you have used your keyword 15 times, the keyword density for that keyword is…
Keyword density = (Nkr / Tkn) x 100
= (15 / 500) x 100
= 0.03 x 100
Keyword density = 3%
Here are few Google Analytics Metrics Formulas
Pages per Session
Pages per Session = PageViews / Sessions
Average number of pages viewed per session. This is a good engagement metric for businesses that want low bounce rates and high levels of engagement.
|For example, a website that has had 1,000 sessions and 3,500 PageViews, we would get the following:
3,500 / 1,000 = 3.5 Pages Per Session (PageViews Per Session)
Bounces / Clicks (or Sessions)
The rate at which users leave a site after visiting only one page.
|This metric is represented by a percentage. For example, if you have received 150 Clicks and 70 of those Clicks bounced (left the site after viewing just one page), we could get the following:
70/ 150 = 0.467 = 46.7% Bounce Rate.
Meaning that in this example 46.7% of Clicks result in a bounce.
|Avg. Session Duration (Seconds)
Avg. session duration (seconds) = total duration of all sessions (in seconds) / number of sessions
The average amount of time (in seconds) that a visitor session last.
|Goal Conversion Rate
Goal Completions / Sessions
Goal Abandonment Rate
(No. of Goal Starts – No. of Goal Completions)/ No. of Goal Starts
|New Sessions %
||New Users / Sessions
|Ecommerce Conversion Rate
Transactions / Sessions
|Cost per Transaction
||Cost / Transactions
RPC – Revenue Per Click
(Revenue + Goal Value) / Clicks
The most imperative thing is what you do with your data. If you don’t plan to change your campaigns with the purpose of improving them, then there's no use in collecting data in the first place. It’s critical that you use these formulas to collect information and then change your campaigns accordingly to attain the right type of conversions and ROI that you want. I’d love to hear your thoughts on our digital marketing formula cheat sheet. Feel free to discuss your favourite formulas in the comment section.
Aug 14, 2020
E-commerce has become necessary for both customers and retailers. With the current pandemic, the dependency on e-commerce platforms has witnessed a...